A First First…

I promise that I will not start every post with some pre-blog explanation but I feel this one requires a little bit.  This one is very personal… and involves someone other than me.  As they use to say on Dragnet, the names have been changed (in the case left out) to protect the innocent.  I have many other stories that I am working on that involve other people and I am trying to figure out… is it okay to share this or not… let me know your thoughts.  In any case.. this is the story of my first, first kiss…

I had known her for many years.  We had gone to church together since we moved to Elizabeth City in 1969.  From the 7th grade forward we had been at the same school.  I always thought she was very pretty…. too pretty actually.  See, I was really shy and was too scared to talk with girls… particularly the real pretty ones.

Once we were in high school, we started having classes together.. and she would talk to me some.  I eventually got comfortable but was always amazed that she would spend any time talking to me at all.  We started hanging out some and I would sometimes ride my bike over to her house on Sunday afternoons and we would just sit around and talk or listen to music.  It was a great time.

I wanted to kiss her… but I was so painfully shy… and I was certain that I had no clue what I was doing so I didn’t do it.  As time went on I could tell this was going to be an issue.  I could tell she was thinking that maybe I wasn’t that interested… and nothing could have been further from the truth!

So I knew the time had come!  I decided that I needed to get brave and step up so I figured the following  Sunday night would be the time.  I would kiss her on the way to her house after our church youth meeting.  Since neither one of us were old enough to have our drivers license yet, we were riding in the car with my sister and her boyfriend.  We were all hunkered down in the back seat holding hands and whispering to each other.  I was so nervous!  As we approached her house, I did it… I leaned over and kissed her.

In that very moment the world went pitch dark and everything was dead silent… suddenly I couldn’t breath.  Then all at once, I was seeing fireworks exploding but yet I couldn’t hear a sound.  It was the most amazing experience I had ever had in my life!

I came back to my senses just as my sister pulled up in front of her house.  I jumped out of the car and ran around and opened the car door.  We proceeded up the sidewalk to her house.  Since the porch light was on and I was still a little bit shaky, I decided that it was best not to press my luck and kiss her again…  she just looked at me and smile.. and said  “Thanks, that was very nice.  See you tomorrow.”  I just smiled back and said “Yes, it definitely was.”  And I walked away… or was I floating… I wasn’t sure.

There were many other first kisses that occurred in my life… but there can only be one first first.. and it was wonderful.  I wouldn’t trade the memory of it for the world…  Unfortunately, I didn’t realize that this also meant that there would probably be a first last too… but that’s another story for another day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stories

Leave a Reply

