A Blessing indeed…

Of all of God’s creations, I would have to say that sisters have got to be one of the most interesting.  Those of us that have sisters… and a lot of people I know do… are a part of what can be the strangest and yet most wonderful relationships ever.

My sister and I weren’t overly close growing up.  As a matter of fact, she tried to get my mom to take me back to the doctor when she brought me home from the hospital.  My parents love to tell the story about how my sister started stuttering when I showed up.  I don’t know how long that went on but as far back as I can remember she has not had the problem.  I guess it was just the trauma of having to share the family space with me.  We are only about 22 months apart in age so it isn’t like there was some huge age gap.  When we were young we actually hung out some… playing together with mutual friends.  There was a very unfortunate bike and tricycle accident that put her in the hospital for a while.  There is still some debate over who caused it but you can only pedal a tricycle so fast… and that’s all I’m going to say about it.  But basically, up until I was 10 years old, we were very tolerable of each other.  It may have had something to do with us being shut up in the house every afternoon waiting for mom or dad to get home from work or maybe it was us having to do the Sunday dishes before we could go out to play… in any case, the mutual pain of those early days of our youth must have made us a little more tolerant…

Once we moved to Elizabeth City, we seemed to drift apart.  In looking back at it now I think it was as much an age thing as it was anything else.  When you are a teenager, the last thing you have time for is your irritating little brother or your meddling big sister telling you what you should be doing, right?  It was always a pain to me… being her “little brother” in school… and having to deal with her outstanding academic record.  We would get into little bickering contest occasionally but nothing that major.  I don’t ever remember a huge fight, really.  Just a lot of disinterest in each others lives.

A funny thing happened when she moved out to go off to college.  We became more tolerable again of each other.  When she would come home or we would talk there was some genuine interest in what was going on with each other.

And again recently, after dad died and mom has gotten older and we are now faced with all of the issues that come with an aging parent, I would say we are closer now than we have ever been.  I can’t think of a better person to have the role of my sister than her.  She has put up with a lot from her brother… and not once has she ever gotten on me for not doing the things that she feels I should do… and I know I’m not THAT good!

Yes, sisters can be a very strange breed for sure.  But those of us that are fortunate enough to have them in our lives are truly the blessed ones, indeed.

1 Comment

Filed under Stories

One response to “A Blessing indeed…

  1. Connie Jackson Umphlett

    I agree….I have 3 sisters and 1 brother. It is great now that we are all older.

Leave a Reply

