The preacher and a colorful name….

At this time of year I can’t help but thing about my graduation from high school.  We were the first class from Northeastern to graduate out on the football field.  But that’s not what I’m writing about today.  When I was thinking about graduation, I also remembered the baccalaureate service that we had the Sunday afternoon before graduation.

I happen to come from a long line of preachers.  Many of my dad’s family from generations back were preachers.  I don’t know how many of them if any were actually trained as such and how many of them just took it upon themselves to preach whenever they could draw a crowd.  In any case, the speaker at the service that Sunday was my dad’s cousin.  His name is Brightie White, Jr.  Yes, that is his name.  It is not a nickname.  There are many interesting names in my dad’s family… Rufus Josepheus…. Roscoe Conlan…. Thomas Nassau…. some would even say my dad’s name of Elgin is rather unique.

Obviously Brightie’s dad was also a Brightie.  But the funny thing about that part of the family is Brightie Sr. married a woman whose maiden name was… are you ready for this?…. Pinkie Green… so my dad’s aunt’s name was Pinkie Green White.  A lot of people thing that story is made up but it is true.  She owned a dime store in Morganton, NC for many years.  Isn’t it funny how names come and go in popularity?

So there you have it, I come from a family full of interesting names and colorful characters!  I am sure there will be stories about many of them still to come… so stay tuned… and remember… Stay physically strong, mentally tough, emotionally secure and spiritually grounded!!

2 Comments

Filed under Stories

2 responses to “The preacher and a colorful name….

  1. Irene

    Brightie White married Randy and I. He was quite a character!

Leave a Reply

