Differences and Similarities

My dad and I didn’t get along some times.  I’ve never been able to figure out if it was because we were so different or so much alike.  In either case, he didn’t seem to agree on the decisions I was making about the direction of my life.  I think this is probably typical for many parent / child relationships.  The older I got, the “livelier” the arguments would get.  One day it finally got to a point that I regret.  I don’t even remember the argument now… I said some things.. he said some things… we both said some hurtful things.  It was the final straw.  I had to leave.

We never discussed that day again.  As time went on, things became more cordial but were never the same again.  I guess neither one of us could figure out how to reconcile things.  It makes me sad to think about it some days.  It is strange that now there are so many times I wish I could talk to him… tell him things… ask him questions.

While there are many things I didn’t agree with him on, there are so many more things that I admired about him.  As long as I could remember he worked 6 days a week… occasionally take off a half day on Wednesdays but generally worked full days then too.  He is one of the few people that I have ever known that worked in retail sales from the time he was 14 until he was 65 years old and truly enjoyed it.   There are still many people that remember him from his days at Grants or Eagles or The Dollar Store.. he always tried to help them all, regardless of their lot in life.

Once he retired, he began delivering meals on wheels to shut ins.. and always enjoyed ringing the bell for the Salvation Army on Christmas eve…the Salvation Army always held a very close place in his heart for very personal reasons.

And then there was his faith.  He was not much on talking the talk… although if the time was right, he loved to share it… but boy, did he ever walk the walk.  His faith was the demonstration of his life, not just a lot of words coming out of his mouth… he lived it… day after day, week after week, year after year…  oh how he loved the church more than anything.  I don’t know that I have ever known anyone that believed with the conviction of my dad… He was indeed committed to his faith more than anyone I know.  He was humble, cared for others and dedicated in his beliefs.

So I guess when it’s all said and done,  I hope that I can live up to some of the standards that he set.  If I do, then there is no doubt in my mind that it is a life well lived…  Happy Father’s Day, all.

“Put on therefore, as God’s elect, holy and beloved, a heart of compassion, kindness, lowliness, meekness, long suffering” ~ Colossians 3:12

3 Comments

Filed under Stories

3 responses to “Differences and Similarities

  1. Bobbi

    I was very fortunate to know your Dad and your Mom. Even though your Dad was not as outgoing as your Mom, he was always very well respected by everyone from the Church, your friends, and the general community at large. You two were a lot alike in many ways!

  2. Irene

    Walter, what you wrote about your dad reminds me in alot of ways, things about my dad. My mom use to say about my dad, something like “the less he talked, the more he said”, in other words, I guess she meant actions speak louder than words. I didn’t know your dad except just to recognize him or say hello, but I knew your mom, and she was always so kind and helpful to me when I was working, and also when my own mom got sick, your mom was very supportive. Walter, I hope you had a good Father’s Day!

    • Thank you for the kind words, Irene. I didn’t start blogging until after Mother’s Day so I owe mom a blog of her own too. Life has been a struggle for her after dad passed away and she has gotten older…. thanks so much for remembering her.

Leave a Reply

