Heading Home pt. 3

It really wasn’t much of a house… just an ordinary house located on an ordinary street in an ordinary neighborhood.  While every house in the neighborhood was different (unlike the developments of today when every house looks identical) they were all fairly similar in size.  It was funny that every house had a garage… and not a soul parked their car in them.  I guess everyone thought they were just huge storage rooms added on to the end of the house.

As I pulled into the drive I couldn’t help but think about all of the loads of dirt I had spread over this yard.  I built this yard up an additional 6 inches using just a shovel and a wheelbarrow.  There must have been 25 truckloads of dirt that I spread over this yard.  What a summer that was.

And there was a yard lamp out by the drive that never worked.  The ivy just kept growing over it until it looked like a  green version of Marge Simpson’s hair.  And there was the pecan tree in the back yard.  The tree must be 45 -50 feet tall.  It was a volunteer that came up in my grandmothers yard and we transplanted here oh so many years ago… and from what I could tell on my last visit, it looks like it’s going to be a good year for pecans, assuming the squirrels and wild hogs don’t get them all.

I sat in the swing where my dad use to sit all the time and look at the traffic coming into the neighborhood… and I took another few minutes to relive many of the stories I have shared here.  I don’t doubt that there will be more of them… but I’m not sure they will feel quite the same.

Life has a tendency to do that, doesn’t it?  If someone had told me 5 years ago I would be where I am today I wouldn’t have believed it… my dad is gone, my mom has moved to Florida, and just about every other aspect of my life is… well, it is what it is… and now our home of 43 years is ours no more.

I know that I  spend a lot of time here reminiscing… but, we have to live life today… so that we will all have things to reminisce about tomorrow.

So as the swing glided to a stop, I stood up… stared at the house one last time, got in my car and backed out of the driveway at 105 Rosedale Drive…. one last time.

Mom and Dad’s home from 1969….

Leave a comment

Filed under Stories

Leave a Reply

