Getting to the heart of the matter…

Knowledge can be a wonderful thing.  It is a good thing knowing what day it is or what time it is.  It is great knowing how to get around a city or what day you need to put the trash out.  These are all good.

It is even better to know things that can secure you a better future… things that we learned in school, like math and reading and science.  I remember all of the struggles I had with gaining knowledge in those days.  And to be honest, I’m not sure it is any easier for me today.  I read things, or hear them or see them and trying to interpret the meaning of it sometimes leave me more baffled than I was before my initial encounter with it.  But still I am a seeker.  I  always wanted to “know” things.

But lately I’m not so sure about this.  I am confused and torn by many of the things that I know these days.  I know that things are not as good today as they were say 15 years ago.  I know that there is a lot of violence and hatred in the world.  I know that there is still way too much poverty.  I know that many of my friends struggle every day.  I know that I am not the person that I  should be… So, just maybe it isn’t knowledge that I am seeking.  Maybe it is actually understanding that I need.

I need to understand these things… what they are, why are they that way, are there things I can and should do to make them better.  Just maybe if I can move from the knowledge to the understanding then I can truly move things forward in my life.  See, I believe that knowledge is very much a “head” thing.. it is the numbers… the facts… the figures.  Understanding is more the “heart” of things.. what does it all mean… to the world… to you… to me.

Yeah, I think that’s it.. this started out about a need for knowledge but I think I’m in need more of understanding… now…. Where exactly do I go to find that?

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “Getting to the heart of the matter…

  1. Annette Cowell

    Look into your own heart and seek others who share your heart. There you will begin to find understanding. All we gentle folk must unite to make this a better world, and I believe we can. In fact, I believe we must. Keep seeking, my brother, the answers are out there and within you.

Leave a Reply

