Just feeling a little “left” out….

Growing up left handed was difficult.  From the time I started in school I quickly learned what a problem it was.  My teachers from the very beginning wanted to “correct” my tendency to hold my pencil in my left hand.  Then my letters always slanted the wrong way as I was learning to write in cursive.. so I compensated by turning my paper sideways are and started writing top to bottom instead of left to right.

Scissors were my next big challenge.  Back in elementary school they had those little round tipped scissors for us to use… and of course you couldn’t  cut anything with them if you had them in your left hand.  It would just fold the paper instead of cutting which meant every project I did would look like I just tore the paper instead of cutting it.. which was kinda what I would do.

Then I ended up in classes where the desk was actually attached to the chair.  I know you remember them… the kind where you could only get in from one side and the desk was like an armrest too.  Most classes didn’t even have one left handed desk.  This meant that when I was writing I would have to sit way to the outside of the seat and turn the paper completely sideways so that possibly someone would be able to read it…. although most people can’t read my writing today!

And then there were watches.  Yes, that’s correct.  Watches are right handed.  Let me explain.  Most people wear their watch on their left wrist.  By doing this, a right handed person doesn’t have to worry about their watch being a nuisance when they are writing.  This makes sense to me.  So as a left hander, I want to wear my watch on my right wrist.  If you do this, then the stem for setting… and winding the older watches, would be on the elbow side of your watch instead of your hand side.  This meant that you had to take your watch off to wind it or reset it.

I am sure there are many more things that have impact on my day to day life that are related to my being left-handed but I guess I have just adjusted to them without really thinking about them too much.  Regardless, I am proud to be a part of the 10% even though the outside edge of my hand stays covered with ink or pencil marks from where I drag my hand through things I have just written… or struggle with using a computer mouse…. or being aggravated by the spiral binding on a notebook while writing… or having trouble unbuckling a bicycle helmet… or…..

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “Just feeling a little “left” out….

  1. Connie Jackson Umphlett

    Still enjoy reading your blog….

Leave a Reply

