A Bonus Track…

Life can be funny some times.  Just yesterday I was writing about running track in high school and experiencing “18” again… if only for a split second and then this morning I am on the tread mill getting ready to start running… and I was thinking about how I really didn’t want to do that today.  I knew my knees were going to be sore and I am still fighting with plantar faciitis (very painful ligament issue under your foot) and I almost talked myself out of it.  Who was going to know, right?

But I decided, no…. I had gotten up (getting up may be an issue but waking up hasn’t been for years… but that’s another blog for another day!) and driven the 40 miles to the gym so I might as well do at least some of what I had thought I would do.

So I start out and suddenly I’m feeling it in my thighs… and my knees and my ankles and I start saying to myself.. “See, I told you not to do this, you big idiot!  When are you going to start listening to me?”  But I kept on going… because the reality is I had been listening to that voice in my head for the better part of 35 years… and I’m tired of it.

So I pushed on… and suddenly all the pain was gone… I felt fine.  My breathing settled into a nice rhythm.  I closed my eyes and drifted off into the tunes on my ipod.  I could feel the sweat streaming down my face, burning my eyes as it ran into them.  But it didn’t seem to matter.  When all of a sudden, I heard the words below…  I am sure you have heard them… this is a song by Bob Seger.

And so today… I felt “18” for a little longer than a split second.  Thanks, Bob.. it was a great run.. 5 miles in 53:40…  and you know what…. I STILL believe in my dreams! 

Stood there boldly
Sweatin’ in the sun
Felt like a million
Felt like number one
The height of summer
I’d never felt that strong
Like a rock

I was eighteen
Didn’t have a care
Working for peanuts
Not a dime to spare
But I was lean and
Solid everywhere
Like a rock

My hands were steady
My eyes were clear and bright
My walk had purpose
My steps were quick and light
And I held firmly
To what I felt was right
Like a rock

Like a rock, I was strong as I could be
Like a rock, nothin’ ever got to me
Like a rock, I was something to see
Like a rock

And I stood arrow straight
Unencumbered by the weight
Of all these hustlers and their schemes
I stood proud, I stood tall
High above it all
I still believed in my dreams

Twenty years now
Where’d they go?
Twenty years
I don’t know
Sit and I wonder sometimes
Where they’ve gone

And sometimes late at night
When I’m bathed in the firelight
The moon comes callin’ a ghostly white
And I recall
I Recall

Like a rock. standin’ arrow straight
Like a rock, chargin’ from the gate
Like a rock, carryin’ the weight
Like a rock

Lihe a rock, the sun upon my skin
Like a rock, hard against the wind
Like a rock, I see myself again
Like a rock

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

