The Best time of the year….

I always loved October growing up.  It was for me the true season of change.  I was kinda getting back in the groove of school… well as much as I ever really got in that groove… corn fields began to be laid bare… football games were going on every Friday night somewhere…. yep, it was the best.

And it got even better when I could drive.  I loved to drive around and watch the sun coming up over those barren fields.  I would drive around with the windows down, Bachman Turner Overdrive “taking care of business” on my 8 track player and the wonderful musty, dusty sweet smells of fall in my nose!  There was just enough chill in the air to make me forget the hot sweltering days that had just passed back in late August and early September.

I have no idea why this particular month seemed to hold so much promise in my mind.  Maybe it was the fact that I hadn’t screwed up school so bad yet…. failure at this point wasn’t inevitable… as the reality of the situation would reveal itself to me later in November and December.  Or maybe it was the fact this was always the time of year that I fell in love.  I don’t know why but once I got back to school, there would always be a girl that attracted my attention.  I rarely spoke to any of them because I was just to shy but they always showed up in October it seems.  Or maybe it was the fact that the holiday season was almost in reach… the anticipation of wonderful food at my grandmothers house can provoke hunger pains in my even today.  Whatever the case,  October just always felt the best!

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

