A Fortunate Man…

“…Old friends, they mean much more to me than the new friends,
Cause they can see where you are, and they know where you’ve been…”                ~ Harry Chapin

I have had friends on my mind a lot lately.  Some of it may be related to the fact that my high school class just had the 35th anniversary of our graduation… or maybe it was because of all of the other things going on in my life but regardless, they are a major focal point in my life.

The older I have gotten the greater appreciation I have for the friends that have been around the longest.  Many of them I had lost contact with over the years and through the marvels of modern electronics, I have reconnected with them again.  The last few years of my life have been rich with memories and stories that have come back to life again as result of these various re-connections.

I had the good fortune this weekend to spend some time with a friend from way back in my elementary school days.  It is funny how life works.  We had drifted apart as we made our way through junior high and high school… both of us searching for the path that would lead us forward… and here we are again, our paths re- merging as we continue our journey through life.

I am a most fortunate man to have had such people in my life in the past… and so grateful that many of them are now reaching out to me just as I reach out to them.  I wouldn’t say that I am trying to relive past glories (probably because I believe my life is gloriously ordinary) as much as it feels like I am finding a tremendous amount of comfort in the sharing of familiar stories and places with people that experienced the same things.

I do love these friends from the past… as I struggle with many things in my life, the comfort they bring me is truly a calm harbor in the storm… I think I’ll just throw out my anchor and just hang out here…. thanks for all you do for me, my friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

