Pulling a Hank Snow

Hey friends.  Sorry I haven’t been around in a while.  As with all of you, lots have been going on in my life…  but I’m here… and life on the narrows continues… so, where were we?  Oh yeah…..

In the mid 80’s I was just out of college (it took all I could do to figure out how to somehow cram 4 years of college into 6 years but somehow, I did it… but I regress…) and was recently employed in a management trainee position with an electric utility in South Carolina.  I was working in a district office with several other “young guns” learning the ropes on how to be a manager in the corporate world.  It was a lot of hard work, working long hours but that was no problem… I was young and aggressive and was ready to take on the world.

At this same time, there was a mail clerk that worked in the same district office.  He had worked with the company forever.  He would come in very early in the morning and make the coffee so it would be ready when everyone else got there.  He did a lot of miscellaneous stuff.. including getting and delivering the mail.  He had been around as long as anyone could remember and so while he did have a supervisor, he pretty much did what he wanted whenever he wanted.  And while he would disappear for long periods of time during the day, he would always show up late in the afternoon to get all of the mail together for the entire office and get it to the post office before the 5:00 cut off.  We never could figure out exactly what it was he did all day but when he was gone on vacation it always took 5 of us working like Trojans to get it all done.  Every day before he left, he would stick his head in my office and say… “Done all I can do… I’m pulling a Hank Snow.”

For the longest time, I wondered what the heck he was talking about.  Then one day I stopped him before he left and asked him about it.. He said, “You know… Hank Snow…  I’m moving on…”.  He just smiled at me and said…. “yep, done all I can do… Pulling a Hank Snow”.

I have thought about this a lot lately… There are many aspects of my life today that I feel like he did at the end of the day…. I feel like I have made the coffee, picked up and distributed the mail…. collected all the mail that needs to go out and gotten the correct postage on it… taken it all to the post office and checked one last time around the office… so I guess I’ve done all I can do…. time to be Pulling a Hank Snow….

2 Comments

Filed under Stories

2 responses to “Pulling a Hank Snow

  1. So who the heck is Hank Snow?

Leave a Reply

