Yeah…. What Pooh said…..

winnie the poohAs we are in the throes of the holiday season…. how could I not join in with the throngs of others and post holiday thoughts and memories… Just as with yesterday’s post, over the next couple of weeks you will see things I have always enjoyed about this time of year… and maybe somethings I haven’t enjoyed so much… as well as some thoughts in general about the season… so let the celebrations begin!!!

“”Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best — ” and then he had to stop and think. Because although eating honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called”

When I was about 10 or 11 years old I use to sing in the children’s choir at First United Methodist Church in Elizabeth City.  Our choir director would always encourage us to take a nap on Christmas eve because we were going to  have a  service that started at 11 o’clock and went until just past midnight at our church!  Well, you can imagine how well that taking a nap thing went over.. yeah, right!  No napping for this kid!

But in any case,  it became a tradition.  I would always look forward to that service… I loved it when I was in the choir.. and I loved it when I just attended.  There were years when we were in pretty good shape financially… and there were years when times were tough because dad had been out of work… there were years when friends went with me and years when it was just the family.. and it was always great.. always so comfortable…. always so reassuring…

And as we approached midnight, you could feel it in the air… the anticipation that things could actually be right with the world… that peace could really exist… that men could truly love his fellow men… that the world could be… perfect.

I believe Pooh has it right.. as good as Christmas is… the anticipation of it is just a little bit better… no matter what it’s called…

Leave a comment

Filed under Stories, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

